Skip to main content
NextGrantFind Funding for What Comes Next
Back to all scholarships

Japan · Government of Japan — JDS Programme (implemented by JICE)

JDS — Japanese Grant Aid for Human Resource Development Scholarship (Bangladesh 2026)

Open38 days left · 30 Nov 2026
Verified · Applications open
Study levels
Master, PhD
Funding
Fully funded
Applications open
1 Oct 2026
Deadline
30 Nov 2026Closes 4:00 p.m. (Bangladesh time is implied by the Bangladesh recruitment; the page does not name the timezone)

What the funding covers

Full tuition fees, one round-trip airfare, arrival and accommodation allowances, a monthly scholarship, subsidiary allowances for books, shipping and travel/seminar, and overseas travel insurance.

  • Full tuition fees
  • One round-trip airfare
  • Arrival allowance
  • Accommodation allowance
  • Monthly scholarship
  • Subsidiary allowance for purchasing books
  • Subsidiary allowance for shipping
  • Subsidiary allowance for traveling and seminar
  • Overseas travel insurance
Tuition
Full tuition fees
Stipend / living allowance
Monthly scholarship (amount not stated on the official support page)
Accommodation
Accommodation allowance
Travel
One round-trip air fare
Other support
Arrival allowance; subsidiary allowances for books, shipping, and travel/seminar; overseas travel insurance; pre-departure orientation and arrival support

Eligibility

  • Who can apply: Citizens of Bangladesh only — but eligibility is RESTRICTED to confirmed government officials (BCS cadres, Bangladesh Bank Class-1 officials, BJS officials, and 1st-class officials of the Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division). This is NOT open to general students.
  • Minimum qualification: 16 years of school education with at least a Bachelor's degree (Master's applicants). Doctoral applicants must have completed a Master's course in Japan and worked at the target organization for at least 2 years.
  • Age limit: 40 (see the note in the official rules).
  • IELTS submission is mandatory; 6.0 or higher is preferable. Scores taken after 1 June 2024 are valid (for Waseda University: on or after 22 September 2025). JICE arranges an IELTS test for applicants without a valid score — that score is valid for JDS selection only. A math test is also required for Master's applicants (mid-to-end December 2026; Keio and Kyushu University applicants are exempt).
  • RESTRICTED to confirmed members of: Bangladesh Civil Service (BCS) cadres; Bangladesh Bank Class-1 officials; Bangladesh Judicial Service (BJS) officials; and 1st-class officials of the Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division — with at least 2 years of work experience at the time of application.
  • Age: below 40 as of 1 April 2027 (born on/after 2 April 1987) for the Master's course; 45 or under as of 1 April 2027 (preferably under 40) for the Doctoral course.
  • Doctoral applicants must additionally have completed a Master's course in Japan, returned to and worked at the target organization for at least 2 years, and have at least one peer-reviewed publication (or a clear prospect of one).
  • A permission letter from the applicant's Controlling Authority is required (attached in the online system or forwarded to the JICE Bangladesh Office).
  • Female candidates are encouraged to apply.
  • Ineligible: current recipients of another scholarship (including other Japanese scholarships); those who obtained a Master's/Doctoral degree overseas under a foreign scholarship; military personnel and civilian military employees.
English / IELTS
IELTS / English test required
IELTS submission is mandatory for both Master's and Doctoral applicants (6.0 or higher preferable; scores taken after 1 June 2024 valid). JICE arranges IELTS for applicants without a valid score. A math test is also required for Master's applicants in mid-to-end December 2026 (exempt for Keio/Kyushu applicants).
Application fee
See official source
No application fee is mentioned on the official pages.

Run the eligibility checker to see how you line up.

Apply — official links only

Apply through the JICE Online Application System (the official Apply Now page: 'Online Application should be done by online application system of JICE'). Deadline 4:00 p.m. on 30 November 2026. Attach the Controlling Authority's permission letter in the system, or have the authority forward it to the JICE Bangladesh Office.

Verification record

Source:
JDS — Application (Master's) | Bangladesh (jds-scholarship.org)
Last verified:
2026-10-23
Last checked:
23 Oct 2026, 06:01 UTC
Status:
Applications open

Evidence: Official JDS Bangladesh Master's page (verified 2026-10-23): 'Deadline for Application: 4:00 p.m. on November 30th (Monday), 2026'; application period '1st October 2026- 30th November 2026'; 'JDS is now inviting potential applicants who understand its aims and are interested in 2-year master's degree program at Japanese accepting universities for the academic year 2027-2028'; 'The number of dispatches is 30 (Master's course) per year.' Eligibility section states 'Nationality: Citizens of Bangladesh' restricted to confirmed BCS/Bangladesh Bank Class-1/BJS/LPAD officials with 2+ years' experience; IELTS mandatory, 6.0+ preferable. Doctor page: 'Deadline for Application: 4:00 PM November 30, 2026.' JDS Support page 'Benefits of JDS Fellows': full tuition fees, one round-trip air fare, arrival allowance, accommodation allowance, monthly scholarship, subsidiary allowances for books/shipping/travel & seminar, overseas travel insurance. Batch labels '26th batch Master's / 10th batch PhD' come from the GoB ERD circular (Tier-1 government notice), not the JDS site.

All 12 verification checks passed against jds-scholarship.org (Bangladesh Master's, Doctor, Apply Now and JDS Support pages) plus the GoB ERD circular, on 2026-10-23. Observed JDS-site inconsistencies are flagged, not hidden: the Doctor page introduction says academic year 2026-2027 while the Master's page says 2027-2028; the Doctor page shows '5597 Master's' vs the Master's page '597 Master's' (fellow-count typo); the Apply Now page still reads 'JDS 2025 Master application' in Step 5 (stale year). None of these affects the published dates, eligibility, funding or application route.

Not published by the provider (left blank on purpose): a numeric minimum GPA (the provider does not state one). NextGrant never fills gaps with guesses.

NextGrant is an independent discovery platform and is not the scholarship provider. Always confirm the final requirements on the official page before applying.